Hopewell lies tucked in the valley of the East River, outside the towns of Stellarton and New Glasgow (TCH 104 Exit 24 and south on 374 out of Stellarton). One of many such communities that sprung up along the valley and once joined by the railroad which delivered supplies and mail; this small community is the home of the Hopewell Footbridge, a municipal heritage site and one of the last surviving footbridges in North America. Hopewell is part of the beautiful EastRiver Valley, a scenic pastoral area known for its colourful blueberry fields, winding river and lush farmlands.
Go back in time with this guided walking tour along the Sampson Trail, which highlights the ships and spirits of the New Glasgow historic harbour. The experienced tour guides are dressed in authentic costumes, and late tours are lead by lantern.
The building dated 1889 was a "Canadian Red Cross" outpost after World War II, and after that time became the local village and community hospital. In 1968 a new hospital was built and the building became the home for the elderly. Since that time the building was leased to the women of the community and thus a board of directors as formed to become a cultural center for local festivities and events. It operates as a tourist information center and an art gallery, which is dedicated to promoting local artists including youth.#59 Antigonish Ceilidh Association Presents the 4th Annual Pastoral Airs Concert
The 4th Annual Pastoral Airs Concert is presented by The Antigonish Ceilidh Association, a not-for-profit organization committed to preserving the music & culture of our Highland Ancestors. This is their annual fundraiser that assists in putting on bi-weekly ceilidhs in Antigonish to keep the tradition alive! Check the website for more information on this year's concert lineup! The concert begins at 8 pm at St. James United Church on Main Street in Antigonish. Tickets are $20 and available in advance Brendan's Fairway (Hawthorne St., Antigonish) or from any member of the Antigonish Ceilidh Association.
July 15, 2009 Admission $20 in advance or at the door
Join a historic walking tour of the Town of Pictou with costumed tour guides. These informative tours include architecture, historical buildings and sites throughout the downtown and waterfront. Seasonal guided tours are arranged through the Hector Exhibit Centre. For more information visit www.rootsweb.com/~nspcghs/index.html.
In the old Brule Schoolhouse located beside the Brule Community Centre, on the Sunrise Trail, Highway 6. The Centre highlights fossils from one of the most important track way sites in the world; preserved specimens of hundreds of footprints of amphibians and reptiles older than the dinosaurs. Conifers and tracks preserved from 290 million years ago, and reconstructions of the animals that made the tracks.
The 6160-yard, par 72 course, minutes from Pugwash, overlooking the Northumberland Strait, is one of Atlantic Canada's most picturesque and challenging layouts. The four par-threes are noteworthy, with three of them having elevated greens, including the spectacular 174-yard No. 4 --- the course's signature hole, along the steep shoreline of the strait. This tricky par three sits on the Northumberland strait with a steep embankment on one side giving way to the Atlantic Ocean. A successful shot has to be hit over the embankment and more than one golfer has sacrificed his ball to the sea. The sea scenery combines with the beautiful landscaping of the grounds to create an atmosphere perfect for a round of golf. The greens are made from thincross creeping bluegrass, and are designed to challenge even the most serious players, while the fairways are made from an annual bluegrass, common to most courses in the province.
Every Monday morning throughout the season, rug hookers gather at the Art Gallery 215 in Selma to create, socialize, and share light refreshments. It's a great way to create functional or decorative art, plus recycle old materials. All are welcome - they even have the occasional knitter!
Chez Deslauriers, located in Pomquet, Antigonish County, Nova Scotia, offers the visitor a taste of Acadie. A tearoom, located in a heritage home, offers light lunches throughout the summer. In addition, authentic Acadian cuisine is served each Friday for lunch. Lobster Roll dinners (with local entertainment and arts/crafts sales) will be held on August 16, 2009 and September 13, 2009 (3-6 PM). The property also boasts spectacular views of St. George's Bay and Pomquet Beach, a 5 km coastal and inland walking trail, and an interpretive centre and outdoor stage.
For over 34 years, Joy Laking has painted Nova Scotia and captured her view of the world on wayercolour paper. She is inspired by the white clapboard houses that are sprinkled along the coast, old rocking chairs on porches, sheets on clotheslines, a bit of sunshine on the salt marsh or a glorious sky. Visitors smile and relax when they arrive at the gallery and see gardens with goldfinches, bubbling ponds and shady chairs as well as a colourful and whimsical buot collection displayed on an outside shed wall. Inside, visitors are welcomed with lemonade and cookies and are encouraged to take the time to savour Joy's recent paintings. The Joy Laking Gallery, in Bass River, is open in the summer Monday through Saturday 9-5 and Sundays 1-5. www.joylakinggallery.com
For the Mi'kmaw (Micmac) people Kluskap (Glooscap) is an important cultural figure. At the Glooscap Heritage Centre in Truro discover Mi'kmaw heritage and Glooscap legends. Look up at the giant statue of Glooscap; immerse yourself in an innovative multi-media presentation; contemplate ancient artifacts; view stunning quill and beadwork and learn some Mi'kmaw words. Open year round. www.glooscapheritagecentre.com
In 1980, Willem and Maja van den Hoek started making cheese frommilk produced by their small herd of dairy cows. Today the family business includes a combination of several entities making a visit to the farm truly an experience. Visitors can taste cheese and homemade goods in the café, discover a variety of crafts in the gift shop and enjoy a stroll through nature trails integrating native and non-native plants, water gardens and heritage animals. Walking trails wind throughout most of the 120 acre property. A perfect setting to take some time to enjoy nature and have a picnic. The trails include gardens combining a wide variety of wild and domestic plants, woven between 9 interconnected ponds with farm animals and birds mixed in. Follow the trails, meet the animals, smell the flowers and herbs. ($3.25 adults, $2.25 children)
December – April Open daily year round 9am - 6pm Café open Father's Day to Labour Day 11am to 4pm
The Malagash Area Heritage Museum interprets the history of the first salt mine in Canada which ran from 1918-1959. Farming, fishing, and local history are also displayed. The small but unique museum has proven to be a "must see" just off the Sunrise Trail.
Offers an attractive coastal setting for walking and swimming. The park has walking trails and an unsupervised beach area. Northport, Heather and Gulf Shore Beach Provincial Parks are just minutes away. The park contains a variety of habitats including large Red Maples along Annabelles Brook, a mixed forest of Black Spruce, Balsam Fir, Red Maples and White Birch in the campground and two bogs near the shore. Elsewhere, White Spruce and poplar colonize abandoned fields.
The beach provides a good cross-sectional view of the ChignectoRidged Plain. The visibly sloped strata are a combination of shale and siltstone layers, along with intermittent sandstone layers in which both plant and animal fossils occur. Every winter erodes the cliffs and every tide changes the beach, abrading the cliffs and revealing new fossils.. The cliffs themselves are protected and may only be utilized for research by professional geologists with permits from thr Department of Natural Resources. Visitors may collect samples from the beach, however. A wide range of fossils may be found by walking along the beach, examining the rocks and breaking them open to expose the fossils. And, of course, any beach walk means beach-combing for shells, driftwood and other flotsam.
... in Denmark, near Tatamagouche, was very up-to-date when it was built in the 1890s. Powered by steam, it no longer needed a river or stream as an energy source. Explore the world of Alexander Sutherland's steam-powered saw mill. For nearly 70 years from 1894, the Sutherlands produced carriages, sleds, windows and fancy gingerbread trim for local homes. Have a good look at some of the machinery. There's a drill press made from an old milk separator, a plane run by an early car engine, and in the back room there's a wonderful old copper tub where shingles were soaked--and where the staff had their baths on Saturday nights. Open June 1-Oct. 15 Mon - Sat : 9:30 am - 5:30 pm Sun : 1 - 5:30 pm
A Celebration of wind and water, this 2 day event will include lots of activities related to kayaking and kite flying. It will tickle your child hood again and bring back memories, not to mention how spectacular the kite flying demonstration and kayak know-how of our experts! Don't miss out on this unique festival! If you have been thinking about kayaking or kite flying, this is the place to be this weekend! Check website for 2009 dates.
The Sunrise Trail Museum exhibits include North Shore Mi'kmaq; Acadians at Tatamagouche; DesBarres and his first settlers; 19th-century agriculture, shipbuilding and lifestyle; and early 20th-century lifestyle.
Tatamagouche, Telephone: (902) 657-3007
A 115-acre golf course, where play takes you to a par-72 when you play the nine holes twice. The fairways are wide and gently contoured with challenging turns and traps as you approach the green. Signature hole number 5 dog legs to the right and runs along the beach. All together it is a pleasant walk, slightly sloping and open. Tee times are not necessary so please drop in! Everyone is welcome to play golf, go along for the walk or sit on the deck with a good book. We have a very activeMen's League which plays on Thursday nights at 6 p.m., all welcome, discounted green fees. Several Ladies' groups meet weekly to play the course and other courses together. Juniors meet Saturday mornings to practice together with amateur instructors.
Tatamagouche, Toll Free: 1-877-657-2611
Surrounded on two sides by cold Fundy water, Cape Chignecto Park's unique environment and inaccessible shorelines have attracted wildlife species rarely seen in Nova Scotia. A trail follows the coastline for approximately 45 kilometres with several elevated lookoffs and access points to the beach. The park offers something for the hiker of any skill, from quiet walks along the beaches at the base of the cliffs and easy paths through the woods to demanding hikes involving steep slopes, stairways and high cliffs. The area is home to not only sea birds, rabbits and hares, but also to salamanders, bobcats and cougars. Ravens, woodpeckers and chickadees are commonly seen. Gray Seals can be seen from cliff edges.
The Mission Statement of the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre is to collect, preserve and promote the traditional Celtic music of Cape Breton Island through Education, Research and Performance. Every Sunday, there is a ceilidh at the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre in Judique, 3pm - 6:45pm, $7 admission.
Located in a wooded gorge near Tatamagouche, the Balmoral Grist Mill was built in 1873 by Alexander McKay. It was operated by himself and his descendants until 1954. The mill was taken over by the Nova Scotia Museum in 1966. Visitors to the museum can see how the mill grinds oats, wheat and buckwheat. Wooden gearing, shafts and pulleys still drive the millstones, bucket elevator, hoist, sifters and other machinery. There is also a kiln where the oats are dried before being ground. Ramble along the 1-km Christene MacDonald Walking Trail. At the Museum Shop, you can purchase freshly ground flour and baked goods made with the mill's products. Hours:Open from June 1-Oct. 15 Mon - Sat : 9:30 am - 5:30 pm Sun : 1 - 5:30 pm http://museum.gov.ns.ca/bgm.
The Colchester Historical Museum, located on Young Street in Truro, is one of the top-rated museums in Nova Scotia. Exhibits depict the natural and human history of Colchester County from antiquitity to present day. Be sure to see the large tapestry created by local needle artists depicting Truro's history. As well, the museums vast genealogical resources, dating back to the earliest settlement of Colchester and surrounding counties, have helped many people trace their family roots.
Open year round. July & August Mon to Fri 10-12 & 1-5. Sat 2-5.
During the off-season Tues to Friday, 10-12 & 1-4. Sat 1-4.
Just east of Tatamagouche, Rushton's Beach offers a sandy shore, sheltered picnic tables, sandbars at low tide and a salt marsh attracts a great variety of birds. Some of warmest saltwater in Nova Scotia, boardwalk, and picnic area, change houses and vault toilets available.
Because Cape George is composed of bedrock it extends well into the Northumberland Strait, while it's neighbouring shoreline has been eroded away. The tip of the cape consists of 100m cliffs, scoured by strong ocean currents. A lighthouse was built on the cape in 1861 and is still an important navigational aid for mariners in the strait. A hiking trail leads to the lighthouse. The views of the Northumberland Strait are tremendous with Prince Edward Island visible to the west and Cape Breton Island to the east. This is a great place to see unscheduled and unpredictable families of whales swimming by. (and I do mean unscheduled! On the same day, only hours apart, our guests have reported seeing 30 whales while the others saw none at all!)
Located on Arthur Street in Truro, on the the campus of the Nova Scotia Community College (formerly the Nova Scotia Teachers College), the Little White Schoolhouse Museum commemorates schoolhouses in Nova Scotia from Confederation to the 1950's. Formerly a school building, the museum is fully restored and contains books, photographs and artifacts from the era of the one room schoolhouse.Open June 1st through August 31st. Mon to Fri 10-6. Admission is free.
Munroe's Island Nature Reserve, located along the Northumberland Strait (part of Caribou Provincial Park) is an ideal location to spot many species of wildlife which are found in the sanctuary there. Hikers and nature enthusiasts are welcome to explore the Island and enjoy the solitude of the park. A lucky visitor may catch a glimpse of eagles, geese, ducks, osprey and possibly a fox or two.
The Anna Swan Museum is presently housed at the Tatamagouche Creamery Square. Born in the mid 1800's and weighing approximately 18 pounds at birth, Anna Swan looms large in the history of Tatamagouche. Growing to a height of seven foot eleven inches, at sixteen she joined the P.T. Barnum's American Museum in New York City. While on an overseas tour with P.T. Barnum, she met and eventually married MartinVan Burren Bates the so called "Kentucky Giant". The Anna Swan Archives holds personal items of Anna Swan, photographs, a door from their custom built house, and other items of interest.
Advocate Beach is known for its magnificent sunsets. The beach, littered with piles of driftwood as much as six feet tall, forms an impassable barrier across Advocate Harbour. It almost connects the two capes, and it is broken only by a small opening used by fishing boats – and then only when the tide is high. Visitors are astonished to see fishing boats lying on the mud during low tide, and then heading out of the harbour two hours later with 30 feet of water under their keel. Visitors can exoect to see shore birds such as sandpipers, gulls and the occasional hawk. Sometimes cormorants and blue herons fish on the harbour side of the beach. The grey seals often seen along the shore have their rookery on Isle Haut, approximately 12 miles offshore and directly in front of the beach.
The Wallace and Area Museum has approximately four kilometres of trails open to visitors. In the fall of 1998 the Museum opened several short walking trails to allow visitors to experience nature without having to make a large commitment of time. The 222 acres of land which belong to the Museum were originally purchased from a United Empire Loyalist, Peter Tuttle, in the early nineteenth century by James B. Davison. In 1839, shortly after he had established a successful shipbuilding yard, Mr. Davison built the one-and-a-half storey house which, presently, is the Museum. The property passed down through his descendants to his great-grandson, John Alexander Kennedy. Mr. Kennedy was a prosperous businessman who became president of his own electrical refrigeration company. At his death in 1987, Mr. Kennedy donated both the house and the property to be used as a museum in memory of his family and their Wallace heritage. With over six thousand artifacts catalogued as belonging to the Davison - Kennedy home, this allows for display changes several times a year.
Picturesque Trenton Park provides the main setting for the Town's annual Trenton FunFest. Events include: Queen Pageant, Mayor's Tea, Outdoor Beer Garden, Soft Ball Tournament, Children's Activities, Main Street Parade, Outdoor Concerts, HUGE Rink Dance with top notch live entertainment. Enjoy the closing event while relaxing in a beautiful 1500 seat outdoor amphitheatre. A Concert Under the Stars followed by a stupendous fireworks display that is second to none! Don't be left out, discover our authentic community festival! July 16, 2009 to July 19, 2009
Come join us for the oldest continuous Highland Games in the world outside of Scotland, running since 1863. For generations the Scottish way of life has been maintained in eastern Nova Scotia and Cape BretonIsland. The language, the traditions, music, dances and songs of the Gael, along with feats of strength and excellence continue to flourish at the Highland Games at Antigonish. Each July, hundreds of musicians, dancers and athletes perform and compete in this grand festival. Early in the week, the town opens its doors in welcome with special church services, clan gatherings, Scottish heritage workshops and concerts. Then come the games themselves, with one of Canada's finest outdoor Tattoos and the favorite Concert Under the Stars featuring pipers, dancers, fiddlers and singers. Topping it all off are the great pipe bands and the men of strength, testing themselves at the caber toss and heavy events. Concentrated in the last three days are piping, dancing, drumming and heavy event competitions. Daily admission as well as weekend passes available.
July 17, 2009 to July 19, 2009
Daily admission ($5-10) or weekend passes ($35). Children under 16, free.
Victoria Park boasts a trail network nearly 20 km's in length, providing a popular site for walking, hiking, jogging, cross country skiing and cycling. The Hemlock Trail is a .7 km route beginning at a stairway in the lower park near Adam Street. The paths meander through 200 year old eastern hemlock stands. The Lepper Brook Walk is a relatively flat trail that begins in the lower park and winds alongside the brook under the cover of softwood. The Mountain Walk is a .5 km path cut into the steep hillside of the gorge overlooking the Lepper Brook.The llokoff at the top of Wood Street offers a spectacular view of the valleys of the Salmon and North Rivers, which meet and flow into the world famous Bay of fundy. On a clear day, the view extends down to the bay to Five Islands, a distance of about 60 km's. The walking trails follow the natural contours of this magnificent setting, allowing for close-up views of the park's two waterfalls, the brrok and steep gorges.joe Howe Falls is one of the most photographed spots in town. Still further along are the Waddell Falls and the Cathedral Dell with a pagoda and picnic tables. In a shady glen there is a replica of the Holy Well, an Acadian baptismal site in the 17th and 18th centuries.
Cape d'Or, which means "Cape of Gold" was named by Samuel de Champlain, who saw the native copper in the cliffs and thought it was gold. If you look at the cliffs from the lookoffs on the eastern side of the coast, you can see the same golden colour that so impressed Champlain. Cape d'Or provides two sites to visit: Horseshoe Cove and the lighthouse site at the tip of the cape. Horseshoe Cove has a mineral-rich cobble beach where you can see amethyst and copper-sheeted basalt that obviously bubbled through the surface during the region's volcanic past. The site features a picnic area with a gazebo and a play area for children. The lighthouse at the tip of the cape is now automated, but the former residences of the lightkeepers has been converted into a tea room. Four trails lead away from the parking area to lookoffs that provide views of the basalt shoreline.
A tidal bore is a rare natural phenomenon occurring on several rivers emptying into the Bay of Fundy. The surge of the incoming Fundy tide temporarily reverses the flow of these rivers and appears as a crest of water traveling upriver. On the Shubenacadie River, the tidal bore and rapidly rising tide results in extremely turbulent waters. It is here where experienced guides offer a safe but exhilarating river rafting adventure and an opportunity to experience the power of the Fundy Tides first hand. www.centralnovascotia.com/tides.php
A one-day literary festival on Nova Scotia's beautiful north shore. Bring a lawn chair and join us by the gazebo in the arboreal gardens at the River John Canadian Legion Hall. After the readings, authors are available for book signing and more chat. The relaxed atmosphere extends into the evening where authors and festival-goers mingle over a meal. The event closes with "Your Turn", an open bar/open mike cabaret-style event where writers from all over are encouraged to strut their stuff. July 18, 2009
Spencer's Island – which is not an island – was once Nova Scotia's premier shipbuilding community. Now greatly diminished from its glory days, it is an interesting little area with a general store, historic lighthouse and fish and chip stand. The former lighthouse contains an interpretive center. A nearby cairn tells the story of the Mary Celeste, a brigantine built here as the amazon in 1867, but salvaged and re-registered in 1868 in New York as the Mary Celeste. In 1872 she was found sailing herself off the the Azores, with not a soul left on board. Her abandonment is one of the enduring mysteries of the sea, and has been the subject of numerous articles, plays and novels. The beach area is a breeding site for the Double Crested Cormorant, Black Guillemot and blue heron and you can usually see the herons feeding in a marsh located on the land side of the beach.
This event will be held July 24 to 26 and entertainment will be supplied by seven of Eastern Canada's top Bluegrass Bands. Starting Friday about 6 PM and running until Sunday mid afternoon. Festival will take place at the NS Provincial Exhibition Grounds in Truro.
July 24, 2009 to July 26, 2009 $45.00 / weekend or $40.00 advance
Port Greville – The main pavilion of this shipbuilding interpretive center is located in a restored 1857 Methodist church. Shipbuilding exhibits – including photos, videos, models and other artifacts – areon display inside the church and at several other locations on the site.Among the notable exhibits is a painting of the Cumberland Queen, a ship that sank off the coast of Boston at the turn of the century, loaded with salt. A year later, the salt having dissolved, the ship resurfaced in front of a fishing boat. Her sails were tattered but her rigging was intact. The fisherman towed her into Boston where she underwent a refit, after which she went back to sea. The sight, sound and smell exhibits are particularily notable, and the center has won awards for architecture. The site includes a working blacksmith's shop as well as a tea room overlooking a tidal river from its deck. The Port Greville lighthouse was moved to the Canadian Coast Guard College in Sydney in the 1960's, but was returned to Port Greville in 1998. It now stands on the grounds of the interpretive center, about one km west of its original location.
The festival includes a variety of activities for both the young and the old. It all begins with the children's parade and includes fiddling contests, pipe band, entertainment almost every evening, quilt show, lobster supper, breakfasts and much more. The giant street parade takes place on the last day and marks the end of the week long festival.
July 22nd to the 25th.
Fun in the sun, sea and sand! Yacht racing, canoe/kayak racing, raft building/racing and much more. July 24, 25, & 26, 2009
This event pays tribute to the rich multi-cultural heritage of the North Shore area. Acadian, Scottish and Mi'kmaq culture will be celebrated through military bands, dancing, drumming and choral music.
July 24, 2009 Admission $15.00
This 582-ha (1450-acre) wildlife area is a popular breeding and staging area for a wide variety of waterfowl. Nature trails wind throughout the site's tidal and freshwater wetlands, woodlands and open fields.2.5 km (1.5 mi.) west of Wallace on the old Bidou Road.
The Antigonish Farmers' Market was originally a project of the Antigonish Regional Development Authority. It has since grown to a yearly summer/fall tradition. The market runs every Saturday morning during the summer/fall months, offering local vendorsthe opportunity to sell their agricultural, baked and home made goods to the public. A non profit organization, the Farmers' Market Association has enjoyed steady growth and continued success each year. Besides the usual friendly and welcoming atmosphere, the Farmers' Market also offers everything from freshly grown produce (including organically certified), honey, poultry, home made chocolates, baked goods, to a large variety of crafts and wood works. The Market also has live musical entertainment and special activities for the kids !Where else can you grab a bite to eat, buy fresh produce, meet the neighbors, hear some music and do a little early Christmas shopping in the process? There really is something for everyone at the Antigonish Farmers' Market!
Late May through December at the Antigonish Exhibition Grounds, 9am to 12 noon.
For numbers 99 through 113 click here.